Hamilton Township Fire Departments Become One As Hamilton Township’s Fire Division Starts Today

Hamilton Township Fire Division Swearing In Program

January 1, 2021

HAMILTON TOWNSHIP, NJ (MERCER)–After years of trying, the nine Hamilton Township fire districts have finally been dissolved, and the Township of Hamilton now provides fire service under the Hamilton Township Division of Fire, starting 12:01 this morning.

In a social distanced swearing in ceremony that started shortly after 9:00 am this morning, Mayor Martin swore in the entire department, about four members at a time with a fifteen minute break in-between. Each individual ceremony was broadcasted live on Facebook. A large swearing in with the entire department at one time was not possible due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the need to provide social distancing.

Mayor Jeff Martin said in a statement, “Today is an extraordinary moment in Hamilton Township and New Jersey’s history – a day that has taken over 25 years and multiple administrations to work towards. Today, Hamilton Township has one unified Fire Division. While this day is one to be celebrated, it is unfortunate that due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we had to scale back the planned ceremony today as we swear in the our first Fire Chief, Richard Kraemer and the entire Hamilton Township Fire Division.  We will properly, and safely, celebrate this achievement later this year.  I sincerely thank all of those involved in the process of consolidating Hamilton’s nine independent Fire Districts into one unified Fire Division including Governor Murphy and his administration, our Legislative leaders – Senator Greenstein, Assemblyman DeAngelo, and Assemblyman Benson, our Township Council, our fire consolidation subcommittee members including — Councilman Pat Papero, Jr., Councilman Anthony Carabelli, Jr., Mark Murranko, Joe Monzo, Chief Richard Kraemer, Scott Goldsmith, Nick Buroczi, Shane Mull, Richard Braslow, and all of the Hamilton Firefighters.”

Related MidJersey.news stories here:

Mayor Martin Signs Ordinances and Memorandum of Agreements to Consolidate the Hamilton Township Fire Division

DCA Local Finance Board Approves Dissolution Of Fire Districts # 1 through 9 In Hamilton Township