2022 Robbinsville Township Council Reorganization Meeting

January 7, 2022

ROBBINSVILLE, NJ (MERCER)–Deborah Blakely took the oath of office for the four-year Council seat she captured in the November 2, 2021 election at last night’s Robbinsville Township Council Reorganization Meeting.

Dave Fried was elected to another four-year term as mayor in November with a record 4,267 votes and will be sworn-in on January 27.

Ms. Blakely received the most votes of any Council candidate with 3,157 votes and was elected Council vice president by her peers. She also chaired the January 6 meeting.

Mike Cipriano was sworn-in by Municipal Clerk Michele Seigfried via telephone on January 5, but participated remotely. Mr. Cipriano was re-elected Council president.

The 2022 Robbinsville Township Council is comprised of Mr. Cipriano, Ms. Blakely, Ron Witt, Chris Ciaccio and Michael Todd, who secured the two-year unexpired term vacated by Dan Schuberth last year. Mr. Todd took his oath in December.

Police Chief Michael Polaski took his ceremonial oath after officially being sworn-in on December 29, just prior to the retirement of former chief Chris Nitti, who retired after 28 years with the department.

In addition, Business Administrator Joy Tozzi, Township attorney Bruce Darvas, Director of Community Development Paul Renaud and Director of Public Works Chris Rupp all were reappointed to their current positions, serving at the pleasure of the mayor.

Mr. Fried became the first Robbinsville mayor directly elected by the voters and was sworn-in on July 1, 2005 by then-U.S. Attorney Chris Christie.

Mayor Fried was re-elected in 2009 by a margin of nearly 2-to-1 over former Councilwoman Sonja Walter, then elected to his third term with a convincing victory over former Councilman David Boyne in November, 2013. He defeated Walter again in 2017 with 71 percent of the vote before running unopposed in 2021. His current term expires on December 31, 2025.

Chief Polaski, 46, grew up in Lacey Township, where he began his law enforcement career as a Special Officer in 1994.

“I am humbled and honored by this opportunity,” Chief Polaski said. “I appreciate Mayor Fried, Administrator (Joy) Tozzi and the rest of the selection panel for having the faith in me to lead this great department. Like every other man and woman on the force, I come to work every day to serve and protect the residents of Robbinsville, and I look forward to doing so in my role as Chief.”