Day: November 16, 2023

Mike Cipriano to Resign From Township Council Effective December 31, 2023

November 16, 2023

ROBBINSVILLE, NJ (MERCER)–Robbinsville Township Councilman Mike Cipriano has informed Mayor Dave Fried and his fellow members on the governing body of his intention to resign from the Township Council, effective December 31, 2023.

Mr. Cipriano, a retired Cranbury Township police officer first elected on November 7, 2017, is relocating to South Jersey to be closer to family and to pursue other opportunities. He was selected as Council President during the January 7, 2021, reorganization meeting after serving as Vice President in 2020.

“This was not an easy decision,” he said. “I want to thank my fellow council members and Mayor Dave Fried, as well as all our Township employees, for their amazing work during my time on Council. It was truly an honor serving the public and working alongside so many dedicated public servants.”

Born in Trenton, Mr. Cipriano is a graduate of the Camden County Corrections Academy and the Trenton Police Academy. He was a 20-year resident of Robbinsville Township upon being elected in 2017. He was re-elected by voters to a second four-year term in 2021, and currently serves as Council liaison to the C.A.R.E. program, as well as the Plan Endorsement Citizen’s Advisory Committee.

“On behalf of my staff, I want to thank Mike for his service to the Township of Robbinsville, as well his service as a police officer, for two decades,” Mayor Fried said. “Mike’s enthusiasm, positivity, and dedication to the town where he chose to raise his family was infectious. Councilman Cipriano will be sorely missed, and we wish him, Justine and their children nothing but success, good health and happiness.”

Robbinsville residents interested in replacing Cipriano on Council can submit their names in person or via email to the Office of the Municipal Clerk, which would provide that information to the other four members of Council. Those interested must be a resident of the Township for at least one year and a legal voter therein by the day their submission is made.  

The remaining Council members will determine which individuals to consider for the vacancy, and then vote to choose a new member. In the event of a tie, Mayor Fried would cast the deciding vote. 

The individual chosen would serve on the Council until an election can be held in November 2024 to fill the unexpired remaining year of Cipriano’s term, which was due to end on January 15, 2026.

“It has been an honor serving side-by-side with Mike Cipriano,” Council President Debbie Blakely said. “Anyone who has had the pleasure of meeting, or working with Mike knows firsthand how welcoming, dedicated and kind he is. We have been very fortunate to have had him serve on our team. We will all miss him and wish Mike and his family nothing but the best.”

The Township Council currently consists of Mr. Cipriano, President Blakely, Vice President Mike Todd, Ron Witt and Chris Ciaccio who, along with Todd and Amit Chopra, were elected by voters November 7. Mr Chopra was chosen to fill Mr. Witt’s seat beginning January 15, 2024.